Sonny Montgomery Award Winner

The G. V. “Sonny” Montgomery Foundation established a leadership award to be presented each year at the Annual National Guard Association of Mississippi Conference.  The award is rotated between the Army and Air National Guard, with this year’s award being presented to an Air National Guard officer, Capt Phillip Garrett of the 186 CES.  We also congratulate our other two finalists, Capt Jessica Green and Capt Wes Roberts, both outstanding officers.

Applications must be submitted through major commands, with a letter of justification for the award.  The National Guard Association of Mississippi Board of Directors makes the final selection from individuals nominated, and notifies the individual through channels of the final selection.

Capt Garrett will be recognized by a member of The Montgomery Foundation during the annual conference with presentation of a specially designed leadership coin; plus, all expenses to the annual NGAMS conference will be paid from funds donated to NGAMS from the foundation.  Capt Garrett is also eligible for the Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award and expenses paid for the National Guard Association of the United States Conference.

The National Guard Association of Mississippi is pleased that Congressman/General Sonny Montgomery chose to remember the National Guard and this Association in this special way and we again congratulate Capt Garrett.